The Trust Board adheres to the Articles of Association of the Trust and each sub-committee to the Trust Board has specific Terms of Reference that ensure good governance practice at all levels. Each school has a ‘School Board’, which is one of the sub-committees, and as such reports to the Trust Board of Trustees. At the bottom of the page you will find documents pertaining to the work of the Trust Board.

The diagram below outlines the current structure and lines of communication - a structure which is worked towards during the initial months of a school joining the Trust:

Danes ed trust gov structures new

Our members and trustees are a committed and talented group who bring a wealth of experience with which to support the Trust. 

Below you will find further details. Those members and trustees marked with an asterisk are also trustees of the Holborn Estate Charity (HEC).

Members of the Danes Educational Trust

HEC appointees:

Mrs Linda Clarkson MBE Chair of Members

Education & Management

Chair of St Clement Danes Academy Trust since opening in June 2011. Vice Chair of St Clement Danes School Charitable Foundation from 2007 – 2014.            

Mr Mike Bruce

Finance & Management

A former Trustee, appointed as a member in 2019. Now retired, was formerly the Director of Information Technology at Moore Stephens LLP a firm of chartered accountants in London.

Mrs Rosemary Hadfield MBE   


20 years teaching in the UK and abroad in the primary sector. 30 years association with St Clement Danes as a parent, governor and formerly Chair of Governors. HEC Trustee.        

From the Danes Educational Trust Board:

Mrs Kath Unger

Human Resources

30 years in HR within the civil service before moving to the private sector in 2010 as HR Manager for a Hertfordshire based Insurance Broker. Associated with St Clement Danes School as a parent and then a governor from 1998 to 2012.

The Danes Educational Trust Board - Trustees of the Danes Educational Trust

Member appointees:

Mrs Jane Bristow Chair of the Danes Educational Trust Board

Facilities and Management

Crown Representative at the Cabinet Office for the Facilities Management sector with over thirty years’ operational experience in the hospitality, services and supply chain sectors. Most recently CEO, Schools at Sodexo for the UK & Ireland, Benelux and Nordics and a member of the worldwide Executive Committee for that business. Senior Ambassador for the Imagine Campaign at Reading University and a non-executive director.

Mrs Kath Unger Vice Chair of the Danes Educational Trust Board

Human Resources

Co-opted (by Trustees):

Mr Nils Blythe


Executive Director, Communications, at the Bank of England (2011-2014), following a career at the BBC where, until 2011, he was the BBC Business Correspondent.

Mrs Carolyn Garner


Currently UK Tax Manager for an international manufacturing company. An experienced finance professional, who has also served on the Board of Governors of an FE college during a period of expansion.

Mrs Rachel Gauke

Legal & Regulatory

Solicitor working at a legal publishing company, writing practical guidance for lawyers. Specialist in corporate tax law, with experience as a practitioner and professional support lawyer having trained as a solicitor at Linklaters LLP. 

Dr Malcolm Green

Risk and Finance, Estate Management

Chair of the Trust Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee. 30 years prior to retirement as an executive of an international Aerospace Company, with non-executive director experience with the Department of Work and Pensions, an NHS Trust, and a local Housing Trust. On the Board of the Herts Local Government Pension Scheme.

Dr Tim Coulson


Chief Executive of Unity Schools Partnership, a multi-academy trust in Suffolk and East London of 16 primary, 7 secondary and 2 special schools, with approval to open two further special schools and a primary school. He was previously the Regional Schools Commissioner at the Department for Education for the east of England and north east London.

Dr Josephine Valentine OBE - CEO

Headteacher at St Clement Danes between 1998 and December 2017. NLE since 2008, providing school to school support for six secondary schools in Hertfordshire through Executive Headship or leadership coaching. Leader of Herts & Bucks Teaching School Alliance.