De Havilland Primary School joins Danes Educational Trust

Posted on: 01/10/2020

Today, De Havilland Primary School became the first Primary School to join Danes Educational Trust – a multi-academy trust based in Chorleywood in the South West of the county. The school is excited about this strategic move and the increased scope and potential for collaboration it will bring.  

Pupils from the school celebrated today by launching paper aeroplanes symbolising the school’s link with the De Havilland aircraft and the start of this journey. The planes were made by the children and each child wrote their career aspiration on the wings. Sarah King, Head of School at De Havilland said: “We have been working with Danes Educational Trust for a year now and are delighted to formally join. We are so excited to join the Trust, as we have the highest aspirations for our children. Together we can ensure our children are given the best possible learning opportunities over the coming months and in the years to come.” 

The Danes Educational Trust, whose motto is “Making the difference together” is committed to ensuring that all its learners benefit from being part of the Trust and the opportunities afforded by this closer relationship. Following the move, the school will keep its existing identity, including its ethos, motto, name and uniform, but students and staff will reap the benefits of collaboration on staff recruitment, training and projects of both an educational and resourcing nature.

The Danes Educational Trust was formed when St Clement Danes School, an outstanding school in Chorleywood, was asked to open a second school in South West Hertfordshire – Croxley Danes School. The Trust now comprises of two further schools Chancellor’s School and Onslow St Audrey’s School. 

Its CEO, Dr Josephine Valentine OBE was Headteacher at St Clement Danes for 20 years and is thrilled to be welcoming this local school into the Trust. “We are delighted that De Havilland will be the first primary school to join our Trust. We are excited to realise our vision of providing seamless, outstanding education for children and young people from 3 to 18 as they move from De Havilland to Onslow St Audrey’s and Chancellor’s schools who both became part of the Trust in the last year.”